Posted by / Saturday 10 December 2016 / No comments

The features of the Richards Constitution

National Legislative Council
One of the features of the Richards constitution is the fact that it made provision for a Legislative Council. In all, there were 44 members in the Council. Sixteen of the forty-four were officials and the rest twenty-eight were unofficial.  

Creation of Regions
The Richard constitution of 1946 made provision for the creation of three regions in Nigeria. In fact, it was the first time regionalism was introduced in Nigeria. The constitution created one region in the north called the Northern Region, one in the west called the Western Region and the third in the east, called the eastern region.

Regional Legislative Council
The constitution also made provision for a Regional Legislative Council in each of the three regions of the Northern, Western and Eastern regions. The main function of these Regional Legislative Councils is to pass laws for the regions.

Double membership
Another unique feature of the constitution is that it allowed the members of the various Regional Legislative Council to, at the same time be members of the National Legislative Council.

Bi-cameral Legislature in Northern Region
For the first time, a bi-cameral Legislature was introduced in Nigeria. This was only in the Northern Region. A provision was made for a Regional Assembly, which was the first chamber and another provision made for a Regional House of Chiefs which was the second chamber.

Retention of the elective principle
One of the strong points of the Sir Hugh Clifford constitution was introduction of the elective principle for the first time in British Colonial West Africa. The Richard constitution maintained the elective principle. Thus, some of the members Central Legislative Council were directly elected.

1. Identify and explain six features of the 1946 Richard constitution of Nigeria. 

Related Posts